An adventure of my life time!

3. Passion for Travel

I have always loved travel, even when I was little. I was born and raised in China where “travel” was not a clear concept at the time and very few truly cared about “travel” since there were so much more pressing issues to worry about such as basic food, shelter, education, health and freedom! I was very fortunate, even though at the time I had no idea how lucky I was, to be introduced to the concept of travel by my parents at very young age.

When I was about three, they took me on a train, just wanted me to experience the thrill of a train ride. When I was four, they took me on an overnight boat on Yangtze River (the longest river in China) to have a vacation in a beautiful mountain. Although I can’t remember clearly what I had seen at such young age, the glimpse of the trips, and more importantly the idea of travel, stayed with me.

Then, when I was seven, my dad took me to Beijing from Wuhan on a 16-hours train ride with me either sitting on his lap or taking his seat as he sat on the floor since we had trouble getting a ticket for me. My dad was so determined, no matter how difficult, to let me see the world he was still able to bring me to, for fear, that I wasn’t able to see it in my life as the political tension and turmoil in China was so seriously dreadful at the time.

Little did my father or anyone could imagine that one day I am able to see the world much bigger and further than he ever wished for me at the time. As one of the very few lucky students (less than 50 from China that year), I passed a series of exams and became a graduate student studying Molecular Biology in Rochester University. This changed my life, the world I was able to see and will be able to see!

Needless to say, having such an ability and privilege, I have been traveling near and far to most of the states in the US and more than a dozen countries during the past twenty some years. I have seen part of the world and will continues to see the rest of it, as my dad wished me for many, many years ago!

PS. my photo website:

http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "3. Passion for Travel" (2)

  1. What a great legacy from your dad!

    • Yes, I felt so fortunate to have such a great father and a wonderful mother. Of course, as a kid, I didn’t realized how lucky I was until much later. At least, I realized it in time to tell them and to show them how grateful I was!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud