An adventure of my life time!

DSC00024_调整大小

Day 2 (4/17/13) was a little more fun than just driving. I went to Petit Jean State Park in Arkansas.

Petit Jean Mountain is a special place. It was known for the legend of Petit Jean, a French girl who disguised herself as a boy and secretly accompanied her sweetheart, an early explorer, to the New World and to this mountain. Petit Jean State Park is Arkansas’s first state park which contains enchanting woodlands laced with streams and wildflowers, rock formations and a spectacular waterfall called Cedar Falls.

I stayed several hours in this park and hiked about 6 miles. One of the trails, “Seven Hollows Trail”, passes through hardwood forest with the immense rock formations such as “Natural Bridge”, “Turtle Rocks” and “The Grotto”. The place is so quiet and peaceful that I have only met a family of four during the entire two the hours I hiked there. I love being in such natural place and I thought about my friends in the hiking group. I am sure they would love hiking here with me as well. The only bad part, if I have to pick one, is I was there in the middle of the day which is not good for taking pictures. 😦

Well, a thousand miles are gone and forty five hundreds have yet to cover. I am now in Oklohoma, leaving Tennessee and Arkansas behind!

A travel lesson to learn: Print out your reservation after you make it online – the price could be different if you are not paying attention! I booked a room with Motel 6 online. It was $35.99 for the night. When I checked in at the motel, it changed to $39.99! Even though it is only $4 difference, it would add up if it happens too often. Luckily I saved the reservation and showed it to the front desk. I got the $4 back. Well, not only you need to do your “homework” when you make a reservation, but also you need to memorize your “homework” or to write it down if you have bad memory as me. 🙂

DSC00026_调整大小DSC00034_调整大小

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "7. Side trip to Petit Jean State Park of AR" (2)

  1. Xiaoying said:

    Can not believe you have traveled over 1000 miles.
    post more photos if you can.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud