An adventure of my life time!

DSC00159_调整大小

I had a long day (4/19/13) yesterday, not only drove over 600 miles (from TX, through NM to CO), but also visited Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rock National Monument in New Mexico.

“Unbelievable, incredible, stunning, unique, spectacular, wonderful, stunning …” even those words cannot describe how I felt when I amongst the giant rocks. Of course I have seen pictures before I visited Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rock National Monument. However, being there, up close and in person, made a world difference. Those Tent Rocks are so remarkable and miraculous, it was like outer space! Hiking through the canyon and up the mountain, I thought I was going through a campground created by Aliens!

The official description: “The cone-shaped tent rock formations are the products of volcanic eruptions that occurred 6 to 7 million years ago and left pumice, ash and tuff deposits over 1000 feet thick. Over time, wind and water cut into these deposits, creating canyons and arroyos, scooping holes in the rock, and contouring the ends of small, inward ravines into smooth semi-circles.”

There are only 3 trails, 4.2 miles in total. “Cave Loop Trail” and “Slot Canyon Trail” is connected and don’t miss either one of these. The former is an easy 1.2 miles loop while the later is a 1.5 mile trek up a narrow canyon with a steep (630 feet) climb to the mesa top. With constant stops for taking pictures, I could hardly feel the climb. Walking through the slot canyon with giant Tent Rocks on both sides was amazing. And the view from the top is breathtaking. Not only you could see the Tent Rocks at the bottom of your feet at that point, but also you could see the Valley (Grande Valley) and snow capped mountains (Sangre de Cristo, Jemez, Sandia Mountains) in the distance!

I wonder, after seeing snow capped mountains all among the way and in Alaska for several months, whether I will still feel so excited and appreciative for their beauty as I felt on top of the mesa. People take things for granted when the things become normal and ordinary. That is human nature. We have to remind ourselves, though, how wonderful and how incredibly lucky we are to be able to witness as beauty and to experience other great things in our lives so that we should always appreciate the goodness in our lives. Can’t help to add a little bit personal “philosophy”, here and there along the long of my blogging. 🙂

Well, let me use my pictures to show you the “Alien’s campground” I felt in love with.

“Help” – I have taken a couple of dozen pictures without a memory card in the camera (Sony Cybershot DSC-HX200V), unintentionally, of course. I can view them in the camera, but I can’t download them! How do I do it? Please let me know if anyone knows how to do it! Thanks very much in advance.

DSC00146_调整大小

DSC00164_调整大小

DSC00151-2_调整大小

DSC00154_调整大小

DSC00156_调整大小

DSC00171_调整大小

DSC00273_调整大小

DSC00277_调整大小

DSC00282_调整大小

DSC00197_调整大小

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "9. A Campground in Outer Space" (5)

  1. Bertie Boston said:

    Your photos took me right back to that wonderful day when Bobby, Chelsea and I visited Tent Rock National Monument and hiked up the trails. It was breathtakingly beautiful, but it was also oppressively hot that day – – – in the 90’s! You have picked a perfect time to visit this beautiful site.

    • It was actually cold in the morning, about 23F! By the time I got to Tent Rock, it was around 45F which is perfect for hiking. I just wished I could be there either early in the morning or late in the evening, both times would produce much better photos. Oh well, you get what you are able to get. I am lucky enough just to be there. No complains 🙂

  2. Kexi Cao said:

    Hi Yang Qing, Found below via Internet:
    Copies all images in the internal memory to a memory card.
    1. Insert a memory card with sufficient free capacity into the camera.
    2. MENU (Settings) (Memory Card Tool) [Copy] [OK]

    Here is the link on how to copy the internal memory to the removable memory card. http://esupport.sony.com/docs/dvimag/DSCHX200_HX200V_guide/en/contents/06/04/05/05.html#l2_copy

    • Thank you so much for your help, Kexi! It works! I am so happy. Of course, when you could see the pictures, but couldn’t get them, you always assumed that they were the best ones you missed. 🙂 Now I got the “best ones”. Thanks again! Appreciate your help very much!

  3. Ching, we think so much alike. I’m always comparing the canyons to another planet world. Indeed, that’s is how they feel. Wondrous!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud