An adventure of my life time!

I had several plans for today (4/25/13): I could go hiking with the local hikers in South Fork (which is a couple of hours drive on mountainous road); I could hike up the Chimney Rock (which is not open, but one could hike 3 miles one way up the mountain to the park); I could go back to the same area I went to yesterday and hike the other trails again …

Then, in the morning, I did something I have never done on any of my vacations – I decided to stay put! I have been doing a lot in the past 9 days – driven more than 3000 miles; visited 1 National Park, 1 National Monument, 1 National Wilderness Area, 3 National Forest, 3 State Parks; taken hundreds of pictures. I have done a lot, even by my own standard. 🙂

I am a little tired. And I have to start driving long distance again tomorrow (More than 10 hours. Most likely I won’t write anything tomorrow). So it is time to take it easy and give my travel a “holiday”. 🙂

I have always in such a hurry when I traveled before. My time was very limited so I hated to waste any minute. A lot of times, I was the first one showing up in a park and the last one leaving the place (you can tell by how many cars are there in the parking lot).

This time, though, it should be different. I am going to travel for a long time. If I still keep the same style as usual, I probably wouldn’t last that long. 🙂 Seriously, I do feel a little tired so it is time to slow down.

The cloudy and cold weather made my decision so much easier. I don’t know whether I could stay put too easily, if it was a bright sunny day with beautiful blue sky.

The resort I am staying has all kinds of activities which I didn’t attend at all for I was too busy on my own. So, I went to an activity called “Ice Cream in a Bag” in the afternoon.

To my surprise, it is so easy to make ice cream, if you know how to make it. You don’t need a big and fancy machine at all! Here is the recipe of what I learned this afternoon:

–        Combine 2 tablespoon of sugar, 1 cup of half and half and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract in a pint-size bag and seal it tightly.

–        Place 1/2 cup of salt (The bigger the granules, the better. Kosher or cock salt works best, but table salt is fine) and ice cubes in a gallon-size bag (or a plastic container). Then, place the sealed smaller bag in the bigger bag (or the plastic container).

–        Seal the bag (or the container) and shake it until the mixture hardens. It takes about 5 minutes!

–        You can add different ingredients to make ice cream of different flavor. I am thinking coffee ice cream! Yummy! 🙂

So ladies and girls, this is a great way to make “homemade ice cream in a bag” at home or at a party. Try it! You will be pleasantly surprised. 🙂 And don’t forget to let me know, if you do try it out one day.

Well, it seems a “holiday” can be fun, in a totally different way. 🙂

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "15. Travel Needs a “Holiday”" (2)

  1. I’m so glad that you can take a break and also enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud