An adventure of my life time!

DSC00776_调整大小

If you read my blog so far, you know I love rocks and rock formations. I am sorry to say, though, that Massacre Rocks State Park (in Idaho) I went to today isn’t one of my favorites. 😦

There are plenty of rocks in the park, big boulders spread all over the area along the Snake River. However, they are so dark and gloomy. Even the color of the river was dark. I thought about naming today’s blog as “Black Beauty”, but I have so much trouble calling it that. Perhaps I should call them “Beast” instead. 🙂

The cloudy day didn’t help in any way, of course. The gray sky made the area seemed even darker and murkier. Other than a ranger’s car, mine was the only one in the parking lot.

“Any dangerous animal in the park?” If possible, I always like to check with the rangers about hazardous animals in the area wherever I go to.

“In warmer days you need to worry about the Rattle Snakes. Today?” The ranger said with a teasing smile on his face. “If you see one, you can use it as a walking stick.”

“Oh, no thank you.” I smiled back. “Use a snake as a walking stick?” I thought to myself “I would rather fall and die, before the snake scares me to death.”

Although the place was practically empty and it was so gloomy, I didn’t feel afraid while I hiked there for several hours. All I wanted badly, though, was some color. Any cheerful color!

Well, as if someone heard my wishes and answered my “prayer” – on the warmer side of the slope, there were patches of tiny little pink flowers. The delightful, cheery color of the wildflowers lit up my day. So they are the “beauty” in my story. 🙂

DSC00782_调整大小

DSC00788_调整大小

DSC00784_调整大小'

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "19. “Beauty” and “Beast”" (8)

  1. Hello Fairy Princess,
    Interesting that you would think ‘dancing like a fairy’ yesterday. Noor-un-nisa, a beautiful Sufi woman, as a child, saw fairies in the flowers; that is, until, one day, someone told her that fairies didn’t exist. In tears, she ran to her father.
    “Baba, I cannot see the fairies anymore, ever since someone told me they aren’t real.”
    “You will see them again,” her father replied. “But not in this lifetime.”

    Good you found your flowers today, but never forget that you carry them in your heart always.

    Continued safe travels, beautiful flower.
    Vedura/aka Salima, which means ‘the one who brings peace and safety.’

  2. Jindi Ma said:

    Hi Qing, What a reward! the beauty after all the beasts! :-)) Reminded me immediately of an artist who lives just south of Chapel Hill in Chatham county. his work can be a realistic portrait of dull color scenery, with added a bright color flower or a little cheerful girl.  Oh, found his info.   About the Artist – David L. Stickel About David. “Excellence is a better teacher than mediocrity. The lessons of the ordinary are everywhere. Truly profound and original insights are to be found …

    Best,

    Jindi

    >________________________________ > From: Solo Travel to Alaska >To: jd_ma@yahoo.com >Sent: Monday, April 29, 2013 7:54 PM >Subject: [New post] 19. “Beauty” and “Beast” > > > > WordPress.com >traveling-girl-in-china posted: ” If you read my blog so far, you know I love rocks and rock formations. I am sorry to say, though, that Massacre Rocks State Park (in Idaho) I went to today isn’t one of my favorites. 😦 There are plenty of rocks in the park, big boulders spread all” >

  3. I don’t think the little purple flowers were adequate reward for hiking on a cold and dismal landscape but there’s always tomorrow. I hope the new day brings greater beauty your way.

  4. Qiaohong Zhang said:

    You write so beautifully. I am amazed that the young woman that I used to know to spend almost every single awaking hour in a lab has a mind of a poet and an eye of a photographer. What a transformation that I missed! Or, perhaps I was just blind 20 years ago.

    • You were not blind! I wasn’t like this 20 years ago! Life changes us, sometime to the better. 🙂 Yes, I did change a lot, although there was always a little “artist” inside of me, even when I was young.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud