An adventure of my life time!

Yesterday was really too cold. I woke up in the morning with running and stuffy nose (5/2/13). That scared me – I am going to drive long distance (600 miles) again tomorrow. It is surely not a good time to feel sick!

So, I did what I have done a week ago — I am giving myself a “holiday”, again (post #15). It is not easy to stay inside while it is so sunny outside. But of course, I know what is more important. Staying healthy is crucial to me right now. It is certainly not fun and more importantly not safe to drive if I do get sick.

Sometimes, we have to give up something in order to get something. Giving up being outside in a beautiful sun-drenched day is worthwhile to gain a healthy body and a clear mind for traveling again tomorrow.

Is it purely coincidence that I felt tired or a little unwell once in a week? Perhaps our body is built this way. We have to take it easy at least once in a week. 🙂

This reminded me something. There was a very famous emperor in Chinese history (Zhu Yuanzhang) who only allowed three day holidays, in a year! No weekend at all! Just imagine living and working in his era. It was certainly absurd, to him, to have a “holiday” once in a week. Oh, aren’t we lucky or what?

BTW, I slept a couple of hours in the afternoon and feel ok now, ready to drive 600 miles tomorrow. 🙂

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "22. On “Holiday”, Again" (7)

  1. Alison Zhang said:

    I hope you don’t get sick! I miss you!

  2. If you’re still feeling crummy tomorrow, try taking some acetaminophen or ibuprofen before you hit the road. It won’t fix your stuffy nose, but it’ll help you feel better, especially if you have a sinus infection.

  3. Take 2 g of vitamin C a day, with food or water. Then increase it to 4 in a week time. (2 in the morning and 2 in the evening). In 2 weeks or less you will notice a difference in your resistance to various pathogens. For energy take B2, 6, and 12.

    Have fun and be safe.

  4. Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put
    this short article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of
    time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still
    worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud