An adventure of my life time!

27. Empty Handed

I didn’t  get any picture of the animals I intended to catch.
Cougar Bay Preserve is an area I heard from a receptionist at the resort I am staying in. She highly recommended the place for wildlife viewing. So I thought it would be great to go there to take some pictures of animals.
It is a few miles southwest of Coeur d’Alene. When I arrived there, there was only one other car parked in the tiny parking area. After hiking half an hour or so along the edge of marshy area, I met the owner of the car coming from the other direction. Two dogs were with him.
“Have you seen anything?” I was curious since I didn’t  see anything other than a few birds in the distance.
“Plenty of porcupines!” The man sounded, grimly.
“Oh, really?” I was excited just to see something, anything.
Then I saw it! No, I didn’t  see a porcupine, but I did see what a porcupine can do – the front face of one of his dogs was covered by a couple of dozen of thorns or spikes! That was why the man wasn’t  very happy.
“Oh my god.” I felt sorry for the dog and I could almost feel the pain.
Long time ago, in my earlier life, I stepped on a sea urchin when I was snorkeling in Curacao, a small island country off Venezuela. It was so painful! The irony was, in my previous life, I was a scientist studying sea urchin! It was almost like a payback time for using the animal as a subject for my study. The only laughable part of the incidence was that the lady working there told me the only way to stop the pain was to use urine. “Not your own urine!” She said with a teasing smile on her face.
Well, I didn’t see the porcupine or any other animal. Even the birds were too far away for me to take any good shot.
It was a day without any picture, but a day with an old story to tell.
Besides gaining new experiences, this is the other fun side of travel – it reminds you some other travel stories normally buried deeply in your memory.

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "27. Empty Handed" (4)

  1. Poor dog! At least the owner can express his unhappiness. Did the owner tell you what he’d do to treat his dog? Would urine work in this case?

  2. Jindi Ma said:

    Here is a quiz:  I told kids to eat something (in Chinese), then Robby said: Ok, I’ll eat noodle bag, I love noodle bag. what is it?   Jindi Smile is the most beautiful face, is, too the warmest greeting!

    >________________________________ > From: Solo Travel to Alaska >To: jd_ma@yahoo.com >Sent: Tuesday, May 7, 2013 7:40 PM >Subject: [New post] 27. Empty Handed > > > > WordPress.com >traveling-girl-in-china posted: “I didn’t  get any picture of the animals I intended to catch. Cougar Bay Preserve is an area I heard from a receptionist at the resort I am staying in. She highly recommended the place for wildlife viewing. So I thought it would be great to go there to t” >

  3. You lost me 😉 but I am glad you are smiling

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud