An adventure of my life time!

DSC01243_调整大小

  1. On Alaska Highway, Finally

Alaska Highway is the major reason I am here. Driving Alaska Highway is, or at least used to be, an adventurous thing to do.

This highway starts Dawson Creek, Canada and ends Delta Junction, Alaska. Since it connects Canada and Alaska, it is also called as Alaska-Canadian highway or ALCAN highway.

After almost one month, I am finally on this famous highway!

It looks just like any other 2-lane highway, except there are lots of ups and downs, twists and turns. I remember Brian, a hiking friend, who has driven Alaska Highway before, said that he even felt sea-sick driving on one stretch of Alaska Highway. I don’t know which stretch he was talking about, but I have the feeling that it won’t get any better.

Even though I didn’t get sea-sick, I dreaded just thinking about that I may have to drive back again after the summer is over. Well, I will check the info for the ferry as soon as I get to Denali. At least, this way, I don’t have to drive as much.

As expected, there were not many people on the highway, which is good since then you can drive on your own pace. Also, although not many, there are still enough people to make me feel safe. I know, if I do need help, there will be people around. In fact, a young lady stopped to ask me if I needed help when I just stepped out to take pictures. This kind gesture from a totally stranger really warmed my heart and re-assumed me that I am not really alone.

I have to say that the first couple of hundred miles from Dawson Creek, the scenery isn’t as great as I expected. It is relative flat with lots of brown and dark green trees by the sides of the road. Only occasionally, you could see snow-covered mountains in the far distance. I didn’t even take any picture.

After driving about 7-8 hours (I drove pretty slowly and stopped from time to time) and started to feel bored and tired, the scenery changed. Tall mountains appear in front of me and surrounded me. Although most of the trails are closed for the season, I still managed to spend several hours hiking and walking in Stone Mountain Provincial Park. Being outside feels so much better than driving!

Not only I saw rocky mountain and ice-covered lake, I also saw Mountain Goat and Elk. That Mountain Goat was sitting there by the side of the road, staring at me, without moving for quite awhile. I was happy he wasn’t shy at all. As for the Elk, I saw 4 pairs. They were always appeared in pairs. What lovely couples they are! Why can’t we, the intelligent human, be like that?

DSC01233_调整大小

DSC01226_调整大小

DSC01271_调整大小

DSC01303_调整大小

DSC01280_调整大小

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "35. On Alaska Highway, Finally" (4)

  1. The second picture looks interesting. The “mountain” almost looks like man-made, or is it?

  2. Glad you are having such a good time and sharing it through this wonderful blog! The bouncy part of the highway is only in British Columbia. You’ll have no trouble getting a ferry. I reserved a spot only one day in advance. (And the drive from Haines Junction, Yukon to Haines, Alaska, where I boarded the ferry, was extremely scenic.)

    • I am glad the bouncy part is in British Columbia, not all the way to Alaska! Although I didn’t feel sea-sick, I didn’t like it either. I do hope that I could get on the ferry so I don’t have to drive all the way back again.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud