An adventure of my life time!

DSC04498_调整大小

Just in case you wonder why I didn’t write much lately, not only I was busy working, but also I have been sick for more than a week. Just cold, nothing serious, but it did take my “spirit” away, for a few days. Nevertheless, I still managed to hike a couple of times and did other fun things such as ATV ride (which probably prolonged my sickness).

One of my favorite hikes in Denali, so far, is Savage Alpine trail. It is a strenuous 4 miles hike. From Mountain Vista day sue area, the trail travels first through spruce and cottonwood forest; then it climbs 1500 feet through rock fields to a mountain ridge. On top of the mountain, the view is breathtaking – Alaska Range is right in front of you, with the open valley in between. On a clear day, Mt. McKinley is visible, although it is not as tall since it is blocked partially by other tall mountain peaks.

I loved the wilderness and the openness of the place. Hiking on the mountain ridge, without a clear trail (it is under construction), I felt like a mountain goat. J What a place to live!

The trail climbs down and ends in Savage River day use area. There is a much easier trail along the Savage River starting from the parking lot. The trail is only 2 miles round trip. However, I was told that there is a small glacier if keep hiking a bit longer after the maintained trail ends. Indeed, I found the small glacier not too long after the official trail ends. It is a shame that most people don’t know this small hidden treasure.

DSC04380_调整大小

Small patches of red lichen on the rocks added a delightful color to the pictures.

DSC04381_调整大小

DSC04413_调整大小

DSC04416_调整大小

DSC04417_调整大小

DSC04420_调整大小

DSC04425_调整大小

DSC04490_调整大小

DSC04502_调整大小

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "52. Savage Alpine and Savage River Loop Trail" (2)

  1. I’m surprised that you did not encounter a mountain goat while hiking on the Savage Alpine Trail 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud