An adventure of my life time!

59. Remarkable Fireweed

DSC05412_调整大小

Alaska’s most well know and beloved wildflower is the fireweed (Epilobium angustifolium). It can be seen along the highway and sometimes, the roadside corridors are enflamed in pink with this abundant wildflower. It reaches its peak bloom by late July and early August, depending on different geological locations. Fireweed blooms first at the bottom. An old Alaskan saying claims that by the time the fireweed blossoms at the very top, the summer is over.

I love fireweed, not only because it is pretty, but more importantly because my mom loved it. This wildflower often appears as the first wildflower in burned-over lands after wild fire, thus the name fireweed. To my mom, it represents the strong spirit and tough will of wildflowers to survive and to blossom in most splendid way even under the most barren and desolate condition.

Once again, this blog is for my mom!

DSC05411_调整大小

DSC05423_调整大小

DSC05437_调整大小

DSC05439_调整大小

DSC05447_调整大小

DSC05414_调整大小

DSC05531(1+4)_调整大小

DSC05539_调整大小

DSC05542_调整大小

DSC05548_调整大小

(“white” fireweed?)

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "59. Remarkable Fireweed" (7)

  1. So many fireweeds; I might call them fireflowes. Good to see, from FB, that you are safe and still enjoying your experience. Safe travels home, where ever you might choose that to be.

  2. Alison Zhang said:

    Love you! 🙂 (hugs)

    I wish I could see you in person right now

  3. You made me cry again! I don’t think I will recognize other wildflowers when I go to Alaska. But I won’t forget about this one—it will remind me of mom and you.

    • There isn’t a time that I see a beautiful flower without thinking of mom. I so wish she could see it, in person or through my camera! I am working on the second flower book again. Hopefully it will be published soon, to honor mom and dad!

  4. Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of
    information on your site. Im reazlly impressed byy your site.

    Hi there, You’ve performed an incredible job. I will
    certainly djgg it and individually suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud