An adventure of my life time!

DSC06039_调整大小

I have never really cared about birthday that much. Yet, when I had a chance to go heli-hiking on my birthday, I felt especially lucky. It became one of the two most memorable birthdays I have ever had. The other one, just in case you are curious, happened about 10 years ago. At the time, I gave myself a special gift – I danced every single night of the “birth week” (for a couple of nights, I had to drive a couple of hours to find a dance). 🙂

“Take a walk on a wild side” says on the company ad. Well, we did take a walk on the wild side – the wild Alaskan back country. A helicopter lifted us up and dropped us off to a remote area located just beyond the boundaries of Denali National Park. With unforgettable views of the rolling hills and tundra ridge lines, we (another couple and I) hiked with a naturalist and his son above the tree-line for several hours.

Jeff, the experienced guide, has been working as a naturalist at this company for 17 years! Although he and his family live in Texas, he loved Denali area so much that he kept on coming back, year after year. It seems, pretty soon, his son of 9 years old will become someone just like his dad.

For someone who loves hiking and flying, no doubt, this is a birthday I will remember for rest of my life.

DSC06035_调整大小

DSC06038_调整大小

DSC06044_调整大小DSC06046_调整大小

DSC06059_调整大小

DSC06048_调整大小

DSC06070_调整大小

(It is just a rock. But look how pretty it is!)

DSC06079(1+3)_调整大小

DSC06085_调整大小

DSC06098_调整大小

DSC06111_调整大小

DSC06119_调整大小

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "64. A Perfect Birthday Gift: Heli-hiking!" (13)

  1. Ching, you are blessed to view such pristine land, and, even more, how deeply you appreciate your adventures. My former boss, then in his early 70s, and his wife used to fly to the Arctic every summer, spend time with the Inuits, then take a week canoeing trip, with guide, on beautiful lakes. The only drawback was the black flies. Have you run into them yet?

    May you continue to enjoy your adventure and come home safely, where ever that home might be.

  2. Alison Zhang said:

    Happy Birthday to you! I hope that you had a wonderful birthday 😀

  3. Happy Birthday!!! Enjoy and be safe!

  4. xiaoying said:

    What a special Birthday!
    What’s that yellow thing? a frog? a piece of stone?

  5. Dear Qing, Happy Birthday! I am glad that you spend your birthday surrounded by such beautiful view. Please know that your friends in Chapel Hill are also with you on this special day. Yan

  6. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on backpacking equipment.
    Regards

  7. Right now it appears like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform available right now.

    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud