An adventure of my life time!

DSC09268_调整大小

I am on the road, again. My first stop is to Wrangell-St. Elias National Park. “Bates Motel” is very close to the National Park, so I reserved it for two nights.

Of course its real name isn’t “Bates Motel” (The fictional Bates Motel is the main setting for movie Psycho). In fact, I don’t think I can’t even call it a Motel since it rents out individual rooms without bathroom. You have to go outside to use the shared bathroom. It is more like a cheap hostel or cabin.

I have stayed places in worse condition than this particular accommodation. However, I had never felt scared until I stayed here. It is a dark building in a “ghost town”. And quest what? I was the only guest there! I learned late on that the tiny little town is popular in the summer for people who like fishing. But the fishing season just ended a few days ago so the place seemed so deserted. To make matter worse, as if someone was playing a joke on me, suddenly, the light was off in the evening. I was watching a crime movie on TV at the time! Even though it was only off briefly, but I am sure you can imagine how frightened I was, on top of everything.

I actually like quiet and secluded places, normally. But not on that day! All night long, I have heard noises, either from the heating system or something cracking in this old building. Images of Norman Bates and his motel kept on showing up in my mind. To make myself feel a little better, I had the bear spray on my night stand, with safety clip removed and ready to use. J Needless to say, I had a terrible, sleepless night.

Well, of course it is not “Bates Motel”. Otherwise I wouldn’t be here to tell you the story. Logically I knew I was over reacting. But at the time, the looking of the place, the noises in the night, the fact the light was off once already in the evening, and the knowledge of nobody was around — all made me nervous and scared. Well, I only stayed one night and canceled the second already reserved night. I need a good night sleep, after I frightened myself for nothing that night. 🙂

The only good thing about it is: I got up really early in the morning so I had a long day to travel and to see. 🙂

Oh, by the way, I am big fan of National Parks. However, Wrangell-St. Elias isn’t one of my favorite. It is huge –bigger than the country of Switzerland. Most of the places inside the park can only be access by plane! The 33 miles we can drive to isn’t that impressive. There are mountains, but nothing better than other mountains you can find in Alaska.

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "81. Staying in “Bates Motel”" (4)

  1. I’m laughing, Ching, because I had a similar feeling in a motel on the way to the beach many years back. One of the bravest things I’ve ever done is to take a shower that night. But I slept with a pair of scissors.

    • It is pretty funny now that I think about it. It certainly didn’t feel funny at the time. And you were braver than I was – I was so afraid that I didn’t take a shower that night. The light just went off not too long before my bed time. I really was worried about having a “black out” in the middle of my shower. That, for sure, would freak me out!

  2. next time, when you find out you are the only one, just cancel it. You are so brave.
    I can not think about that situation.
    I have send you a link with gorgeous scenic people took when hike deep into that park.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud