An adventure of my life time!

96. Spirit of the Forest

DSC00566_调整大小

“People walking the curving paths of Ferry Island feel as if they are not alone. They glance around only to discover that they are being watched closely by wise, mocking, shifty and mysterious faces peering out at them from the trees.” – this is on a wooden board at the beginning of a trail in Ferry Island of Terrace, BC (Canada).

Those unique carvings were done by a local artist, Rick Goyette. At first, it was very hard to find anything on the trees. Luckily a lady was walking her dog there so I asked her. She pointed a couple of them to me. I realized that they are pretty small, as big as a hand. From the pictures I have seen, I was expecting something much bigger.

“Rick, the artist, has a special talent, even though he’s a handicap.” The lady commented.

I have to say that the carvings are not particularly beautiful. However, I was still inspired by the artist who didn’t allow his disability got in his way to share his special gift with others. His strong will to share reminded me of my mother who was also a handicapped, but very accomplished person.

I walked the trail, trying to find all 56 tree carvings. In the end, I found about 35 of them. Those distinctive carvings certainly made my hiking more interesting.

DSC00539_调整大小

DSC00543_调整大小

DSC00545_调整大小

DSC00559_调整大小

DSC00560_调整大小

DSC00564_调整大小

DSC00570_调整大小

DSC00571_调整大小

DSC00563_调整大小

DSC00573_调整大小

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "96. Spirit of the Forest" (2)

  1. Bertie Boston said:

    I think they are absolutely wonderful carvings and Rick is very talented! Thanks so much for sharing.
    Love,
    Bertie

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud