An adventure of my life time!

DSC02374_调整大小

I didn’t even want to go to Dry Falls State Park. It is about a couple of hours away, one way. Most importantly, from all the pictures I have seen online, it doesn’t look it is a beautiful or interesting place to visit. It does look very “dry”.

Well, I am glad I did go. And I kept on saying to myself that “I am happy I am here”.

The area certainly looks pretty dry. However, not only the story behind it is interesting, but also, it is actually a fascinating area. Although it is not the beauty we normally consider, the dried high cliff does impost certain power, appear and beauty of its own. I was also surprised to see a place so “desert-like” in Washington State. I felt like I was in Taxes. 🙂

“Dry Falls is one of the great geological wonders of North America. Carved by Ice Age floods that long ago disappeared, the former waterfall is now a stark cliff, 400 feet high and 3.5 miles wide. In its heyday, the waterfall was four times the size of Niagara Falls.”

I spent hours in the area, without even on any trail for most part. A geology professor I met when I first arrived gave me some tips as where to go to look for something interesting. “This is a fascinated area!” He said it more than once or twice. Apparently, he loves the place very much.

So did I. Simply happy I did visit the not-so-dry Dry Falls.

DSC02281_调整大小

DSC02288_调整大小

DSC02296_调整大小

DSC02299_调整大小

DSC02300_调整大小

DSC02321_调整大小

DSC02322_调整大小

DSC02323_调整大小

DSC02327_调整大小

DSC02329_调整大小

DSC02336_调整大小

DSC02343_调整大小

DSC02367_调整大小

DSC02346_调整大小

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud