An adventure of my life time!

DSC04171_调整大小

Yosemite Valley is the most scenic and popular part of Yosemite National Park. Cathedral type of peaks tower like islands in the sky! Of course, Half Dome is the most famous icon, of this park, and probably of natural beauty of this country. It is simply breathtaking being surrounded by massive, soaring, sheer rocky mountain peaks. No matter which direction I looked at, I was amazed and in awe, even though I have seen it before.

Although Yosemite Valley is only less than 90 miles away from June Lake, it took me about 3 hours, without stopping, to drive back. Like I said in the last post, the road in the park is so windy and very steep. Since I wanted to wait for the sunset, by the time I left, it was getting dark. And in the mountainous regions, once the sun goes down, it turns to pitch dark pretty quickly. Driving in the darkness on this treacherous road was quite an experience. 🙂 Luckily there was only very few “crazy” people like me driving on the road by that time. I could drive as slow, or fast, as I feel comfortable.

To my sister and concerned friends: don’t worry about me! I am a very safe driver. The more I drive (24000 miles in past 7-8 months), the more careful I become, especially after bumped by the deer (post #131).

DSC04079_调整大小

DSC04077_调整大小

DSC04101(1+4)_调整大小

DSC04111_调整大小

DSC04114_调整大小

DSC04131(1+2)_调整大小

DSC04138_调整大小

DSC04162_调整大小

DSC04164_调整大小

DSC04168(1+3)_调整大小

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "149. Yosemite National Park (2): Yosemite Valley" (4)

  1. The scenery is indeed splendid! I can see why this is a popular spot, esp. when you compare it with the east side of the park.

    • The east side is nice, but the valley is definitely better. Pictures cannot give you a 360 degree view. In the valley, you are completely surrounded by tall cliffs! Also, most people are coming from the west (with major cities out west). There are so much to see and do in the valley, if you don’t have extra time, there is no need to visit the east part of the park.

  2. Xiaoying Yin said:

    I see half Dome!
    We stayed in tent for 2 night when we were in Yosemite NP 5 years ago and we only looked area in Yosemite valley. I can not believe the scenery is still very impressive in winter time.

    • This was almost a month ago. Sorry I am so behind posting! So technically speaking it was autumn. I am sure, though, that winter is also very pretty in Yosemite!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud