An adventure of my life time!

DSC00083

Dixie National Forest is the largest national forest in Utah, occupying almost two million acres and stretching for about 170 miles. What I am posting here is from a small but amazing part of the National Forest. Red Canyon is only a little more than 10 miles northwest of Bryce Canyon National Park which has strikingly similar landscapes. In fact, the first time I was there, I thought this was part of Bryce Canyon.

I only had a little more than half a day to hike in the area as I only planned to stay two days in the area. I had to spend more time in Bryce Canyon (coming soon).

On my day leaving the area, though, I got up early in the morning. It was still completely dark when I reached the Red Canyon. I was hoping to capture some sunrise pictures, even though the forecast wasn’t favorable. But who knows? The weathermen are known to be wrong, more than once or twice. I was willing to take the chance.

I waited, anxiously, in the dark, for half an hour. The sun did come up! Through cracks of dark clouds, it shone brightly on only very small area of the rocks (title picture). It was so pretty! The color of the rocks under the sunlight was so vibrant. Needless to say, I was ready for it. After taking only half a dozen shots, the sunlight was gone! This was it, a few minutes, the only sunlight I got. But it was so worthy getting up early and the wait. That brilliant and luminous color will stay forever with me!

DSC00080

DSC00101(1+3)

DSC09751

DSC09752

DSC09753

DSC09755

DSC09756

DSC09762

DSC09764

DSC09770

DSC09774

DSC09779

DSC09790

DSC09796

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

 

Comments on: "165. Dixie National Forest in Red Canyon" (2)

  1. Xiaoying Yin said:

    Beautiful red rock!.
    Glad you caught the sunrise!

    • I do feel very lucky! Sometimes, a few minutes of great lighting or a quick glimpse of a wonderful scene can make up for the whole day! Certainly that less than five minutes sunshine made me happy for the whole day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud