An adventure of my life time!

DSC09817'

Bryce Canyon is another favorite National Park of mine. Since it is only an hour and a half away from Zion, I have been to both places the same number of time (this is my fourth). However, since Bryce is in much higher altitude, it is so much colder than Zion. It dropped to lower teens in the morning while I was there. The cold weather forced me to spend less time in this amazing rocky wonderland. I am not a big fan of freezing temperature. 🙂

Yet, I still managed to hike a couple of days there. The trails were snow packed. It wasn’t so bad if it was just snow. But as people walked on it, some places became very icy. A loop trail combined with “Queens Garden” and “Navajo” is the most popular trail in the park. With extravagant rock formations, hoodoos and pinnacles, it is named “the most beautiful 3 miles of trail on earth”! I have hiked this trail once in the summer many years ago, then partially in the winter a few years back.

This time, as much as I tried, I made another partial hike. The trail is a piece of cake in warm days. However, with icy snow, it was a totally different story. I walked down from one end until it was too steep and too slippery. Not willing to give up, once I hiked up, I tried to hike from the opposite direction. Same condition, it was very slippery. But by then I was about a mile into the trail. The stunning rock formations were already made me in awe and quenched the hunger of my camera. 🙂

More than half of the pictures posted here were taken from this loop trail at sunset.

DSC00055

DSC09814'

DSC09819

DSC09827

DSC09836(1+4)

DSC09849

DSC09854

DSC09863

DSC09869

DSC09874(1+3)

DSC09892

DSC09914

DSC09916

DSC09920

DSC09922

DSC09924

DSC09930

DSC09946

DSC09954

DSC09965(1+2)

DSC09972

DSC09980

DSC09992(1+4)

DSC09996

DSC09999-1

DSC09999-5

DSC09999-7

 

 

Comments on: "166. Rocky Magical Land: Bryce Canyon National Park" (4)

  1. I can tell how much you love this place by the number of pictures posted here :). This is also one of my favorite.

    • Yes, you are right. I love Bryce very much. Wished I could hike more there, but it was too slippery to risk. I am afraid of falling – you are happy to hear that, aren’t you? 🙂

  2. Xiaoying Yin said:

    It’s my favorite park too!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud