An adventure of my life time!

172. Bizzarre Toadstools

DSC00670

Between Kanab and Page, near Big Water off Highway 89, there is a special surreal area featuring bizarre Toadstools, or Rim Rocks. It is part of Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. With a short hike (about a mile one way), it is the only area easily accessible in the vast Monument, without a four wheel drive.

I have been to this amazing place once several years ago by chance. I didn’t know anything about the area, just driving around, trying to find a place to hike. It just so happened that I took the trail and I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. The rocks look so odd. As the name indicated, they do look like Toadstools, huge, rocky toadstools! A couple of years ago, I wrote an article about this peculiar site; with my photos, it was published in a Chinese Magazine.

Once again, this time, I went back to the area when I passed by. Even though I have seen it before, I was still in awe. It seemed I was on another planet! The fact that no one was there made the experience even more out-worldly.

DSC00460

DSC00521

DSC00582

DSC00584

DSC00591

DSC00593

DSC00597

DSC00602

DSC00612

DSC00632

DSC00638

DSC00649

DSC00483

DSC00498

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "172. Bizzarre Toadstools" (4)

  1. Love these pictures! The shapes of these rocks are so unique. I also notice that there is hardly any living things (plants) in most of these pictures, making the scenery look a lot more like outer space than those in your other previous pictures.

  2. Libby and Dan said:

    Thank you for great tips! We absolutely loved it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud