An adventure of my life time!

DSC01073

Boynton Canyon trail has been named as Sedona’s top 10 hikes. The trail is about 6.5 miles round trip. From open canyon to towering red cliff walls, Boynton Canyon is stunningly beautiful. Moreover, it is one of the four “vortexes” in the area. A “vortex” is an area supposed to have special spiritual power. The particular energy of Boynton Canyon is “balanced” – for there is a rock spire representing a Kachina Woman and another symbolizing a man.

When I hiked the canyon for the first time, I was pleasantly surprised to hear soothing music coming from the top of the rock. A man was sitting on the rock, playing with an Indian Flute. The soulful music lilted in the air. It was so beautiful. For a moment, I felt I was so “lost” in the tranquility of the amazing sight and sound.

Then, on my way back, I happened to meet the man playing the soothing music. We had a chance to talk while we walked back together. It turned out that Robert loves to come to this sacred spot to play music. A few minutes into our conversation, to my surprise and delight, he pulled a heart shaped rock from his pocket and gave it to me! I was stunned, not only by his kind gesture, but also by the shape of the rock. I am a rock lover – I like to pick different rocks, just for their beauty. However, I have never found a heart shaped rock in the wilderness before.

Upon seeing my astonishment, Robert smiled and spilled out his secret – he made the rock. He has been making heart shaped rocks for many years and he has given away to thousands of people! I was very touched by his way to spread happiness and kindness! I thought I have been doing pretty well by smiling and saying hello to people along the way, or offering to take their pictures when I sensed the need. But he is way above me in spreading kindness. I wonder what the world would be like, if there are more “men with a heart”!

DSC00947

DSC00955

DSC00956

DSC01062

DSC01075

DSC01087

The Kachina Woman

DSC01106

DSC01088

DSC00899

DSC00902(1+4)

DSC00922

DSC00939

DSC00931

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "175. Sedona (2): Meeting a Man with a Heart!" (4)

  1. A very touching story!

  2. Xiaoying Yin said:

    The last rock really like a human being’s face.
    How is the man giving you a heart shaped rock?

    • He used a tool to chip a flat rock into a heart shape. We got a chance to talk about 20 min or so. Since he likes to play music there, I hope I will run into him again one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud