An adventure of my life time!

DSC03193

One of the gems I found out from the local hiking group is “Pictographs and Petroglyphs”. I knew this area is rich in ancient rock arts, yet, I didn’t see any while I hiked on my own. It turns out, those treasures, at least some of them, are hidden in areas accessible by high clearance vehicles or by bushwhacking. I would never be able to see them, if I didn’t join the local hikers!

Here are several different areas I went to with the Meetup hiking group:

The Honanki Heritage Site is an area with cliff dwelling and rock art. The Sinagua, ancestors of the Hopi, lived here from about AD1100 to 1300.

Snake Cave, not far from Honanki, contains one of the largest snake petroglyphs in the area, which is only accessible by bushwhacking.

Woo Ranch contains some of the most spectacular pictographs in the area.

I am very fortunate to be able to find out those hidden gems!

DSC03172

DSC03207

DSC03214

DSC03215

Honanki Heritage Site:

DSC03177

DSC03180

Snake Cave:

DSC03165

Pictographs near Woo Ranch:

DSC03191

DSC03194

DSC03197

DSC03201

DSC03203

DSC03221

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Comments on: "178. Sedona (5): Pictographs and Petroglyphs" (4)

  1. Wow! Sedona is full of surprises—both nature and artifacts.

    • That is why I love Sedona – full of surprises and spirits! I know I will be very sad when I have to leave here one day! For now, I am just going to enjoy it, to the fullest. 🙂

  2. Xiaoying Yin said:

    Are this area can only be reached by high clearance vehicles or by bushwhacking?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud