An adventure of my life time!

DSC04811

Durid Arch trail is 11 miles round trip. After hiking five and a half miles which included a climbing on a ladder, a dry waterfall, and scrambling up a steep hill, the most outlandish rock formation emerged right in front of me. Druid Arch, the isolated, freestanding, oddly shaped arch took me aback.

Of course I have seen photos of this famous rock formation. I actually planned to hike the trail last time when I was there, but didn’t get the chance to do it (too wet). However, the pictures didn’t do it justice. No picture could adequately portrait a three dimensioned structure. No photo could prepare me to feel so small when I leaned up to look at the towering 450 feet arch! Standing amongst the astonishing, bizarre landscape, I was unable to shake a peculiar sense of wonder that I was on another planet, or in a dream.

And nobody was there. Or at least for half an hour. I had this amazing arch all to myself! Then a group of three showed up. Guess what they did? One of the guys striped himself! He was completely naked!  I don’t know what kind of “ritual” he was practicing. But I got his picture (see the last one below)! 🙂

What I do know is in ancient, pre-Christian era, a Druid was a member of priestly class among the Celtic people. The Arch was named due to its resemblance to Stonehenge in England, a place long associated with Druids. One of Druids’ strong beliefs was reincarnation! Perhaps, the man was trying to perform “pre-reincarnation” ceremony. 🙂

DSC04781

DSC04782

DSC04783

DSC04786

DSC04785

DSC04788

DSC04789

DSC04790

DSC04795

DSC04804

DSC04832

DSC04842

DSC04852

DSC04870

DSC04872

DSC04873

DSC04878

DSC04879

DSC04887

DSC04825

DSC04847

 

PS. my photo website: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/qing-yang.html

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud