An adventure of my life time!

Oh my God! I don’t know how to express myself at this moment other than those simple words. I could use “blissfully happy”, “elated, or “on cloud nine”. But it is more than just being happy. It is exciting. It is fulfilling. It is knowing that dream do come true, if you dream hard enough—my first fiction book, “Greater than the Sky”, is coming out next week (https://www.coolbeanspe.com/).

Finally, I am a fiction writer! 🙂

No, I wasn’t a writer, at least I wasn’t trained as one. My education is in science. I have a Ph.D. in molecular biology.

However, writing is in my gene and fiction writing is in my blood. Almost everyone in my family is a writer, fiction or non-fiction. My grandfather was an economist; his book was still in print, more than forty years after he passed away. My grandmother was the first Chinese woman ever received a degree in France; she was one of the eighteen female writers featured in “Writing Women in Modern China”. Both my parents were professors and they had published countless academic articles and books. My mother was also an award-winning author of four children’s books. My aunt translated “Gone with the Wind” and “Peter Pan” into Chinese. My sister had a lengthy portfolio of scientific publications as well and now she is a professional editor.

As for me, I do have a number of scientific articles, magazine articles, and even two non-fiction book in China.

But I didn’t start fiction writing until 10 years ago. “Greater than the Sky” is my very first fiction (I have several short stories published before). For that matter, it is always special to me. It is my “first love”. And it is part one of a book series I am working on. I just finished part two of “Dreaming of Danny” and I am working on part three. Life is wonderful, when you can do the things you love to do. Even though I wasn’t trained in the field. And even though it is not easy (English isn’t my native tongue). Well, now you know I don’t just hike and have fun. I do spend a lot of time doing hard work. 🙂 This is also part of my adventure.

Thank you, Cool Beans Publishing Company for making my dream come true!

PS. You will find the book cover and an excerpt of “Greater than the Sky” in my next post.

PSS. For those of you who have read “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand, you might like Greater than the Sky. It is a courageous tale of a group of American POWs in Fareast Asian, with a twist of a heartbreaking love story between one of the brave soldiers and a compassionate Japanese young woman.

Comments on: "237. My Very First Fiction Book Is Coming Out!" (4)

  1. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you. I work with Chinese authors every day. I know how hard the work is. Jane

    Date: Thu, 11 Dec 2014 23:59:40 +0000 To: hjshealy@hotmail.com

    • Thank you, Jane! Hard work makes it more fulfilling once you accomplish the task. I love the feeling that I am able to do something not everyone is willing to do. 🙂

  2. Bertie Boston said:

    Dear Ching,
    I am so happy for you! You are so talented in many areas, and I am not the least bit surprised that your novel was chosen for publication 🙂 I am so happy that everything is going so well for you and I know you love living in Sedona. Wishing you all the best, Bertie

    • Dear Bertie! Thank you for your kind words! My “talent” isn’t the major reason or force behind my writing, passion and desire to express my feeling is what motivates me. In any case, fiction writing is fun. I got to create a world I love. 🙂 Happy belated birthday again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud