An adventure of my life time!

243. A Day at Phoenix Zoo

DSC07373

A zoo is not only a fun place for kids, but also a great place for anyone who loves taking pictures. However, Driving 250 miles just to visit a zoo wasn’t on my list of things to do until the Sedona Public Library offers free pass to Phoenix Zoo. It seems a shame not to use the freebie which is worth $20. So I did, spending a whole day at the Zoo. It was fun, but I double I will do it again, even with another free pass. It took me 2 hours to drive from Sedona to Phoenix and it took 3 hours to come back. Traffic was terrible. It reminded me why I prefer small towns much more than a big city. 🙂

DSC07322

DSC07547

(What a strange way to go to sleep–standing on one leg! Does anyone know why flamingos sleep in this way?)

DSC07544

DSC07372

DSC07387

DSC07298-001

DSC07450

DSC07323

DSC07324

DSC07333

DSC07336

DSC07524

DSC07584

DSC07480

DSC07481

DSC07585

DSC07593

 

Comments on: "243. A Day at Phoenix Zoo" (4)

  1. Standing on one leg may be useful for more than one reason. The leading theory is that it helps birds conserve energy. It probably also helps them avoid getting stuck in the mud. Most importantly, though, is that if they picked up the other leg they would fall over.

    • Thanks for letting me know, Brian. You are a bird expert! It is not easy to take a picture of bird, but I am sure I will have more bird pictures coming in the future. 🙂

  2. Xiaoying Yin said:

    If it’s with friends, It’s fine. Otherwise, it is not worth the drive.

    • My reason being there is to take pictures. Even though the zoo is pretty small, compared to NC zoo, I spent 5-6 hours there. Not too many of my hiking friends will enjoy a slow walk like this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud