An adventure of my life time!

DSC09730

Makena State Park is my favorite state park in Maui. The water is green; the sand is yellow; the rocks are black; and the sky was blue with white clouds. It reminded me a beach I went to on the west coast of Australia.

The water is really comfortable. I have been swimming several times already at different beaches. Whenever I went swimming, I thought about my dad who taught me how to swim. The summer between my first and second grade, my dad took me swimming in a lake every day (in Wuhan, China). By the end of the summer, I could swim 1000 meter (more than 0.6 miles). I was as dark as a black girl.

The lake was about 45 min away from the school. After swimming for a couple of hours after school and then walking back home for another 45 min, I was so hungry that I ate my dinner in such a hurry. I used to eat very slow before that. Eating fast turned out to be a “habit” I kept. My dad used to tease me that I wasn’t “lady-like” at all when I had my meals.

I miss my dad. I wish he could swim with me in this beautiful and peaceful ocean. He would love it, just as I enjoyed swimming with him in the lake.

DSC09761

(I used to use sea urchin to do experiment when I was in graduate school. The sea urchin came from Hawaii.)

DSC09733

DSC09735

DSC09751

DSC09752

DSC09754

DSC09760

DSC09766

DSC09772

DSC09779

Comments on: "270. Yellow Sand, Black Rock, Green Water, Blue Sky" (2)

  1. Xiaoying Yin said:

    Have never seen yellow sand. It’s pretty.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud