An adventure of my life time!

DSC01431

Oh my god! I have never seen such colorful tree trunks before in my life. In fact, I have never even heard about such a thing before I checked the information about Keahua Forestry Arboretum in Wailau River State Park yesterday.

They are called Rainbow Eucalyptus. There are only about several dozens of Rainbow Eucalyptus in the area. Yet I felt I stepped into a fairyland! Only a fairy could paint the tree trunks so strikingly colorful! The vibrant rainbow color took my breath away.

The stunning effect is created when Rainbow Eucalyptus sheds its bark. The bark is smooth, but flaky as it sheds layers on various places at different times along the trunk, revealing new amazing colors which keeps up the appearance of a rainbow. I feel so privileged to be able to witness something incredibly magical in nature.

DSC01386

DSC01250

DSC01292

DSC01393

DSC01254

DSC01237

DSC01402

DSC01408

DSC01470

DSC01476

DSC01404

DSC01464

DSC01398

 

 

Comments on: "289. Wailua River SP (3): Tree Trunks Painted by Fairies!" (2)

  1. Very colorful! I’d be excited to see them too 💜

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud