An adventure of my life time!

294. Adventure Continues

DSC01648

I am back in mainland from my long trip to Hawaii, but my adventure continues. Since I found several volunteer jobs (via workaway.com) in Montana and BS, Canada for the summer, I am going up north again. I will be working at different Bed & Breakfast type of places, mostly 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, in exchange for room and board. I have volunteered for various organizations before, but I have never done something like this. I am excited and a little anxious. Certainly another adventure.

When I went back to Flagstaff, AZ several days ago, I spent a day with my good friend Stephanie. She was so kind to let me stay with her in her nice apartment. That evening, three more hiking friends (Linda, Laurie, and Susan) joined us for dinner. I was so happy to meet up with “old” hiking buddies again, even just for a brief moment. The fact that I am connected with other like-minded people in different parts of the country is very comforting. I am alone, but I am not isolated.

The next day, another good hiking buddy, Phil, drove up from Sedona. He was going to join me for two day camping trip in Hanksville, UT. I was in Hanksville last year and the nearby Goblin Valley State Park left a pretty good impression. However, for some reason I lost all the photos I took on that day so I wanted to go back and take more pictures.

I checked the weather before the trip. It seemed a little chilly at night (high 20s), but comfortable in day time—sunny and 60F. Boy, I don’t know who the meteorologist was and how he did his job. It was cloudy most of the day and it snowed for hours! We managed to take several short hikes, but it was so cold that we had to go back to the car to warm up and wait for the heavy snow to subside. Luckily, it did stop eventually and we were able to take a few sunset shots.

The snow was heavy enough in Hanksville to stay on the ground. My sleeping bag was cold and damp. When I went into my tent, I was so glad I used my hairdryer to warm up my sleeping bag first. At night, it rained and the wind was so strong it woke me up.

Originally we planned to hike in Capital Reef National Park the second day. But I had to change my plan. My throat hurt after staying in freezing cold tent the first night. After hiking in windy, cold, and snowy day and sleeping in icy tent for another night, I came down with a cold. It wasn’t terrible, but it was bad enough to scare me. I still had to drive two more days to go up north, no matter I am sick or not. I have already made non-refundable reservations.

So I bid goodbye to Phil and started driving. It wasn’t a long drive—only a little more than 200 miles today. However, it snowed again when I was on I70! At times, the visibility was so bad that I couldn’t see too far.

The desolate scenery between Green River and Salina is quiet amazing. There were a number of viewing areas along the stretch of the highway. But I only stopped the first couple of them and had a glimpse of it. All I wanted at the time was be safe and leave this area. I am a pretty good driver, but I hate driving in snowy and icy condition. Luckily it only snowed on a stretch less than 100 miles. And thank God I am safe.

The pictures here were taken from Goblin Valley SP.

DSC01559

DSC01574

DSC01578

DSC01580

DSC01585

DSC01588

DSC01590

DSC01594

DSC01602

DSC01605

DSC01611

DSC01613

DSC01616

DSC01670

DSC01671

DSC01624'

DSC01631''

DSC01638

 

 

Comments on: "294. Adventure Continues" (4)

  1. Qing, I see that the west has gotten hold of you!! North Carolina must seem very far away, and not all that enticing:) Good wishes for your next adventure!-Leslie

  2. Xiaoying Yin said:

    These looks just like Arch Canyon NP!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud