An adventure of my life time!

DSC03132'

Henry’s Lake State Park is about 20 miles west of West Yellowstone. I debated whether to visit it since there are a lot to see and to do in Yellowstone National Park. Eventually I decided to take a quick look. If it’s not good enough, I thought, I was just going to leave. It wouldn’t take too much of time to check it out.

Wow, I am so happy I went! My mouth dropped and eyes opened wide when I had a first glimpse of the park. The blue lake is nice, but what attracted my attention was the white birds, lots of them, on the lake! I couldn’t even identify them from the distance yet. However, I was just so intrigued to see so many birds, no matter what they are.

It turned out that they are American White Pelicans. I learned later on that they are migrating birds, just passing by on their way north for the summer. I was lucky to see them.

With yellow/orange beaks, White Pelicans are very photogenic. I spent the whole afternoon taking hundreds of pictures of them. The sun was warm; the water was blue; the birds were so strikingly pretty; no one was there—it was a great afternoon spent in a State Park.

DSC03087

DSC02995

DSC03004

DSC03081

DSC03092'

DSC03126

DSC02856

DSC02874

DSC03053

DSC03113

DSC03001

DSC03183

DSC03187

DSC03171

Comments on: "303. Surprised, and Delighted, by American White Pelicans" (2)

  1. Xiaoying Yin said:

    They are much pretty than white dock.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud