An adventure of my life time!

DSC07516

Just came back from a week-long trip to southern California.

I had seen beautiful pictures of California wildflowers, especially California poppies. When I mentioned this to my friend, Libby, she was very interested in going there with me. It is “risky” since sometimes, if it is too dry, then there won’t be many flowers. And timing is so important and tricky—it could be too early or too late for the bloom. In fact, there was no flower at Antelope Valley Poppy Reserve where normally covers with California poppies in spring time. I’m glad she was willing to take the “risk” and we were lucky to find lots of wildflowers.

We were very persistent. We’ve driven far and long, searched high and low, hiked up the mountain, and even climbed a few fences to “hunt” for flowers. (We stayed in Stallion Spring, but we drove for hours almost every day in all directions. Ironically, the best field of poppy was within 10 minutes’ drive—they didn’t bloom until the day before our trip ended.)

Having traveled on my own for three years (I started traveling from NC on April 16, 2013), it was such a treat to travel with someone who shares the same interests with me. We were elated just to spot a flower; we exclaimed at the same time when we found a meadow full of simple but delightful “treasures”. Libby is not only a dear friend, but also a great travel companion. I’m lucky to have her sharing the natural beauty with me! She is like my “long lost twin sister”. 🙂

DSC08560

DSC08572

DSC07513

DSC08610

DSC07544

DSC07934

DSC07935

DSC07976

DSC07980

DSC08320

DSC08403

DSC08568

DSC08584

DSC08608

DSC08613

DSC07512

DSC07944

DSC08554

DSC08583

DSC07939

 

Comments on: "349. CA Trip (1): Fields of California Poppies" (8)

  1. Wow‼️. Love your pics 👍🏼❗️

  2. Bertie Boston said:

    Simply gorgeous! I’m happy you found a great travel companion, Ching. If you come back to NC for a visit, be sure to contact me 😄 I live in Hillsborough now right next to Occonnechee Mountain State Park

  3. Beautiful!!!

  4. Xiaoying said:

    Beatiful!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud