An adventure of my life time!

Gold Butte is a National Monument located in the northeast of Las Vegas. It protects 300,000 acres of desert landscapes. President Obama designated the area as a National Monument in December 2016.

I heard about this area years ago before it became a NM. In fact, I’ve tried to hike in the area but gave up since there was no sign, no trail, nobody around to ask information.

Even now, it is still a remote area. Libby and I drove as far as we could in her Prius and had to park by the side of the road to hike about four miles (one way) to Little Finland.

I’ve seen pictures of Little Finland online, and I was eager to see it with my own eyes. I’m glad we were so determined to explore the area. It turned out to be as fabulous as I imagined. There are petroglyphs and intriguing rock formations. We spent a long day and still didn’t want to leave.

This concludes my Las Vegas trip.  

 

 

Comments on: "386. Las Vegas (7): Gold Butte NM—Little Finland" (2)

  1. Xiaoying said:

    Beautiful Rocks!
    Is there any other people beside you two?

    • We met a party of six, but they took a few pictures and drove off. It’s hard to believe people go to an amazing place like that and care to spend only few minutes there. More beauty for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud